Categorical Bar plot, relabel categories and groups?

Hello Bokeh users,

I’m pretty new to using Bokeh, so this might be a beginner’s question. I’m generating a Bar plot from a pandas.DataFrame by means of hvPlot which is configured to use Bokeh as its backend. I’ve added a hook that allows fiddling with the underlying Bokeh figure. I want to relabel the categories and groups (as far as I’ve understood, that’s what the two levels of a categorical bar plot are called; don’t hesitate to correct me if I’m wrong).

To be more precise I’ve attached a picture of the labels that I want to change. I don’t want to change the labels in my dataset but instead would like to know if there’s a way to do it on the plot itself.

I’m talking about the labels marked in purple and green in the above image.

Thank you

@HWiese1980 I am afraid I don’t actually know whether this will be simple or not. There is a FuncTickFormatter that can be used to override tick appearance with snippets of JavaScript. This works great for numerical axes, but as far as I know It’s not been tried with a categorical axis. I would start there, though. In particular, I would suggest just putting

console.log(ticks)
return ticks

as the formatting code to start. That will allow you to see the tick structure as it comes in to the formatter (in your browser JavaScript console). You will need to output the exact same structure, but with the labels adjusted however you want.

I see, thanks for the hint. I must say, though, and I’m afraid I forgot to explicitly mention it, that I’m using Bokeh in a Jupyter Notebook, that is in Python code. That’s fine, I guess, I can still do what you suggest. However, I’d rather firstly like to see if it’s possible using pure Python. If it’s not, it shouldn’t be too much of a hassle to give your suggestion a shot.