Change Bar Color of Top-n values

Hi,

I want to create a vbar glyph in Bokeh with a different color on the top-n values.

I’m relatively new to Bokeh and I couln’t find a solution which is working for me. The color mappers change the color according to a special range on the values, but I would like to define only e.g. the top 2 or top 3 values with a different color than the rest.

Here is a simple example with standard color:

from bokeh.plotting import figure
from bokeh.models import ColumnDataSource

data = {‘x_values’: [5,6,7,8,9],
‘y_values’: [1000, 2000, 2500, 1500, 1200]}

source = ColumnDataSource(data=data)

f = figure(plot_width=400, plot_height=600)

f.vbar(x=‘x_values’, top=‘y_values’, width=0.8, source=source)

show(f)

``

How could I change the color for the top2 values? I think it can’t be that difficult, but I’m searching for a solution for a long time now and still did not find any…

Thank you very much in advance,

Verena

Hi,

It's not apparent if you are looking to have this happen "automagically" or not. There is nothing built in to Bokeh to do it automatically. You can either:

* Set the colors yourself (and maybe this is what you are asking for?) i.e.

data = {'x_values': [5,6,7,8,9],
          'y_values': [1000, 2000, 2500, 1500, 1200]
          'colors' : ['blue', 'red', 'red', blue', 'blue']}

f.vbar(x='x_values', top='y_values', color='colors', width=0.8, source=source)

show(f)

That will set the colors of the top 2 bars to "red", because I have explicitly told it to do so, i.e. told it myself which bars are the ones to shade differently.

* Alternatively, you could write a CustomJSTransform that shades the bars automatically in the browser:

transforms — Bokeh 3.3.2 Documentation

In this case you could write a bit of JavaScript code that returns any array of colors that you want based on the input column, i.e. it could return red for the top 2 or 3 and blue for everything else.

Bryan

···