Changing image smoothing option

Hi,

I’m hoping someone can help me as I’m not technically savvy enough to do it myself. I want to turn on the smoothing that occurs here… i.e I don’t want to see the individual pixels but rather the interpolated version of the image when zoomed in (the image that was “wrong”)

I can see there’s options for this within canvas.ts I believe but I don’t know how I’d go about setting it to the right value within the standard python code itself. If anyone can point me in the right direction that would be great. Currently running my code as per here… image.py — Bokeh 2.4.2 Documentation

Cheers
IG

I don’t know how I’d go about setting it to the right value within the standard python code itself.

There is no way to set this from Python code. It is only accessible directly from JavaScript, e.g. via setting ctx.setImageSmoothingEnabled(True) directly on the underlying HTML Canvas DOM element. However, even that would not really help, as the various image glyphs always force image smoothing off before drawing:

const old_smoothing = ctx.getImageSmoothingEnabled()
ctx.setImageSmoothingEnabled(false)

// drawing code here

ctx.setImageSmoothingEnabled(old_smoothing)

There is no easy path to enable smoothing on images currently, I am afraid. I believe the only possible route would be to create a custom extension subclass of the image glyph that does not disable smoothing automatically.

Otherwise all I can suggest is to make a feature request to make this configurable somehow.

I am trying to make a PR which sets ctx.setImageSmoothingEnabled(this.model.smoothing) in bokeh/image.ts at e8b22ef161bae542ca06fe77cb12129ca7e3d870 · bokeh/bokeh · GitHub
This being my first dive into the bokeh codebase, my plan/strategy was pretty much to find places in the code base where global_alpha is defined and define smoothing similarly these places.
I have found the following places:

$ grep -ri "global_alpha" .