Is there any way to update BoxAnnotations dynamically in a callback of a widget?

I have been referring to this thread https://groups.google.com/a/continuum.io/forum/#!mydiscussions/bokeh/Exnb1oE6gz0. Similar to what’s been discussed there, I want to be able to update the BoxAnnotations on my plot dynamically. The BoxAnnotations are calculated on data based on the value of a slider, and for each value, it is possible that there will be different number of BoxAnnotations to be overlaid on the plot. Is it possible to remove the old BoxAnnotations and add new plots in slider callback?
I tried the example given in the link, however it seems that BoxAnnotation is not a renderer anymore. I am new to bokeh and haven’t really understood the different between renderers and references in a plot, please forgive my ignorance :sweat_smile:.

from bokeh.plotting import figure, curdoc
from bokeh.layouts import row
from bokeh.plotting import show, output_file
from bokeh.models import BoxAnnotation
TOOLS = "pan,wheel_zoom,box_zoom,reset,save"
x = [0,1,2,3]
y = [-10,220,40,90]
p = figure(x_axis_type="datetime", tools=TOOLS)
p.line(x=x, y=y, line_color="gray", line_width=1)
low_box = BoxAnnotation(top=80, fill_alpha=0.1, fill_color='red')
mid_box1 = BoxAnnotation(name='mid_box',bottom=80, top=90, fill_alpha=0.1, fill_color='green')
mid_box2 = BoxAnnotation(name='mid_box',bottom=100, top=100, fill_alpha=0.1, fill_color='green')
mid_box3 = BoxAnnotation(name='mid_box',bottom=110, top=120, fill_alpha=0.1, fill_color='green')
mid_box4 = BoxAnnotation(name='mid_box',bottom=120, top=130, fill_alpha=0.1, fill_color='green')
mid_box5 = BoxAnnotation(name='mid_box',bottom=130, top=140, fill_alpha=0.1, fill_color='green')
mid_box6 = BoxAnnotation(name='mid_box',bottom=140, top=150, fill_alpha=0.1, fill_color='green')
mid_box7 = BoxAnnotation(name='mid_box',bottom=150, top=160, fill_alpha=0.1, fill_color='green')