Read precise plot line values for given X.

Hi,

I’m building an app with Bokeh which produces an HTML file for the end-user which is to be used off-line. Therefore I have no access to Bokeh Server, or Python at all, the heavy lifting is done in Javascript via custom HTML template.

The file is interactive, allows user to show/hide grouped lines, it shows a video next to the plot and a progress bar on the plot itself via ColumnDataSource that I update from the video.currentTime making the bar move.

I see that this is non-standard and the BokehJS API is not directly adapted to my use case but through trial and error I was able to achieve most of what I need. I am a backend Python programmer and suck completely at JavaScript but I’m tirelessly persistent so I was able to understand the JS architecture up to reasonable point. I read Backbone and Underscore docs and even some part of BokehJS Coffee code, not to mention the whole Bokeh docs. I have perused the resulting user-side Javascript Bokeh object for hours. You can explain things in detail to me or point me to source code and I will probably understand you.

Now the problem. I need to get the drawn CDS-derived line values. The code:

# ipython notebook side
from bokeh.plotting import figure, output_file, show
from bokeh.models import ColumnDataSource
cds = ColumnDataSource(data=dict(x=[1, 5], y=[1, 3]), name='my_cds')
output_file('out.html')
p = figure(tools='', title=cds._id)
p.line('x', 'y', source=cds, legend=cds._id)
show(p)
# Javascript side, for simplicity I do this in chrome dev console but normally this is part of the template
my_cds = Bokeh.Collections("ColumnDataSource").find(function(model) {
return model.get('name') == 'my_cds'; });
my_cds.get('data')['x']

So I know how to get the original data. Now, I need to know the precise Y value of the line drawn from this cds for a given precise X. So for x = 2.2, y is about 2.8.