Sessions and Documents

I started playing with sessions and documents.

I start the server with NO script.

I believe that creating document on client using e.g.

doc=Document()

has no meaning, since all the future figures are automatically added to current document (that can be referenced by curdoc() ).

I crate a figure,that is automatically added to curdoc()

Then I can push_session(curdoc())

and I can do this multiple times to obtain multiple sessions to the same document.

This if I understand separates the “state” of the document, so if one user zooms, selects or even changes the data of the plot, the user with the other session is not affected.

But I failed to create multiple documents, e.g. user 1 has document 1 with figures A, B, and user 2 is connected to document 2 with figures C,D.

I.e. all the plots are accessible to all the users, because all users share the same initial setting of a document?

I can push a new document created by doc=Document(), but in no way can I assign figures to such document, because all newly created figures are automatically assigned to curdoc(). And when I try to do so (doc.add_root(p)) I get:

Code:

import numpy as np

from numpy import pi

from bokeh.client import push_session,pull_session

from bokeh.driving import cosine

from bokeh.plotting import figure, curdoc

from bokeh.document import Document

doc=Document()

x = np.linspace(0, 10*pi, 80)

y = np.log(x)

p = figure()

r1 = p.line([0, 4*pi], [-1, 1], color=“firebrick”)

r2 = p.line(x, y, color=“red”, line_width=4)

doc.add_root(p)

session=push_session(doc)

session.show()

Output:

<details class='elided'>
<summary title='Show trimmed content'>&#183;&#183;&#183;</summary>

---------------------------------------------------------------------------
RuntimeError                              Traceback (most recent call last)
<ipython-input-37-c596a10d4a4e> in <module>()
----> 1 doc.add_root(p)