Acquiring streaming data externally from Bokeh

I am new to bokeh and I am trying to stream telemetry data to plots. Basically the same as discussed one year ago about plotting pressure transducer data. The problem that I am having with the examples is that they do a good job of generating data in the update call from the periodic callback. My data is external and queues and threads are good candidates for non-blocking acquisition.

Where I am really struggling is how to marry these two - it seems like the thread manager and periodic callback process interfere with each other as control loops need to be managed.

The Fourier plot and ohlc plots are good examples of a starting place for my plots. However, these generate data in the callback.

Is there any way of updating the plots without the periodic_callback? I would like to have new data in the queue push the update(s). Examples or explanation of how to achieve this would be greatly appreciated. I have been studying the existing documentation for over a week now - references to this will not likely help me much.

The periodic_callback might be okay if there some way to start and acquire data from the thread/queue or other interprocess communication scheme.

Thanks in advance.

This is definitely possible, and there are a range of possible approaches. I am afraid I only have the bandwidth to outline and offer pointers.

Generally speaking, Bokeh is built on Tornado. The "bokeh" command is a fairly lightweight script that just sets up the Bokeh Tornado app and some default endpoints and sets it all running. But you can embed Bokeh as a library in your own app:

Bokeh server — Bokeh 3.3.2 Documentation

There are various simple examples of that here:

https://github.com/bokeh/bokeh/tree/master/examples/howto/server_embed