Async io_loop lock process?

I am a newbie in bokeh, so my question should be stupid…
But when I try to test the following bokeh example:

I only replace Server(...,numprocs=4) by numprocs=1 .
And I had a print('finish') as a last line of code in this example after the ‘server.io_loop.start()’.
When I close the web browser, I obtain the following message:
###!!! [Parent][MessageChannel] Error: (msgtype=0x160080,name=PBrowser::Msg_Destroy) Closed channel: cannot send/recv
And my python process seems to be listening on default port 5006 ‘for_ever’, without printing the message ‘finish’ as I was waiting by the print last command line.

Is the error message could explain such behaviour ? and I need to solve this point.
Or is-it the expected behaviour? (i.e. python process listening for_ever)
In this last case, how can I integrate more python code after the server.io_loop.start() to be execute after I close the web browser? (need to use a thread in way to manage bokeh server for example ?)

Starting a Tornado IOLoop (or in general, any event loop fro any async/io library) is a completely blocking operation that will run exclusively until it is terminated. If you want to run code after it has started, there are only two options:

• use threads

• have the code to run be previously set up as callback on the event loop to run later.

Thanks a lot Bryan for these explanations!
So, I need to start bokeh server in a thread instance, or using a run_at_timeout_callback(timeout_callback=XXXmseconds) to solve my problem?
Sorry, but I have done several tests without any success.
Could you help me with more examples details ?

@john-pasglop I’m sorry I don’t have anything to share offhand. It’s probably better to come at this from the other direction, i.e. you share some actual code that you have tried.

Following your advice, I try to use a thread to manage my bokeh server, taking care about the following point

in the following example :

from bokeh.models import ColumnDataSource