Bokeh is too slow, please help

hi guys,

I am new to Bokeh. I have tried to run the following code on JupyterLab with Python 3.8 and Bokeh 2.1.1, but it’s extremely slow and totally un-usable.

import numpy as np
import matplotlib.pyplot as plt
from bokeh.plotting import figure, show
from bokeh.models import PrintfTickFormatter

p = figure(plot_width=1920,  plot_height=1080, output_backend="webgl", tools='xpan,box_zoom,zoom_in,zoom_out,undo,reset')
y = np.random.random(size=(12, 2000000))        
x = np.arange(y.shape[1])

for n, line in enumerate(y):
    p.line(x, line + n * 2, legend_label=str(n))

p.xaxis.formatter = PrintfTickFormatter(format="%d")
p.legend.location = "top_left"
p.legend.click_policy = "hide"
show(p)

My PC has i7-9700k, 48GB DDR4, 1TB NVME SSD, RTX2070 Super GPU + Win10 Pro.
I was told Bokeh was designed to crunch large data, I guess I must be doing it wrong. What else can I do to speed this up? Please advice.

You are absolutely going to have to use a tool like Datashader in conjunction with Bokeh for anything of that magnitude. Bokeh is a browser plotting library. Above you are sending

12 * 2M * 2 * 4bytes/float ~ 200 MB 

to the browser. All of that has to be serialized and deserialized. Then it all also gets mapped to screen coordinates. so you now have a half gigabyte one browser tab. [1] You might have better luck with a Bokeh server application, where the numpy arrays can be sent directly over a websocket in to typed arrays without any encoding cost, but it’s still probably going to be slow.

Datashader can render the data efficiently Python side using Numba and/or CuDF, and the resulting rendered image can be displayed in a Bokeh plot. This vastly compresses the communication and storage overhead to the browser.