Bokeh Web Application

Hello everyone,

I am a civil engineer trying to build simple apps (compared to yours!) to calculate and present basic properties. My main dream is creating a simple website and procedure for me to write the python code, design it in Bokeh layouts and upload. So, I can concentrate on coding the tools.

However, bokeh server thing is out of my capabilities. When I saw bokeh demo page, it looked so easy, creating the layout was easy in fact. However, naively, I though it would be very simple like uploading something.

Now, as you understand my minimum needs, what would you recommend me? I donā€™t know anything but a little Python and Matlab. So HTML codes are very strange to me. However, if I need to do that for my webpage procedure, I will try to learn.But I wish there is a way for easier implementation.
(Easier for a rookie like me.)

1 Like

Iā€™m still learning as well, but might have some ideas:
For me the major questions are:

1. Are you trying to embed bokeh content into an existing website?
  2. Do you want to update the plots dynamically from python/backend?

Depending on the answers different things are possible, hereā€™s the relevant documentation (you probably already saw this):

If you already host your website somewhere, it would be easiest to embed bokeh content into the existing html without backing it with a bokeh server (meaning you cannot update it dynamically from python). But itā€™s hard to advise (for me) without further information.

Consider this post, and links,

Thank you for the answer.

I need dynamically updated chart, therefore, embedding a static content is not valid for my case. My ideal case would be a simple website with different applications, but I think I need a server for that and even if I get the server, it is not very easy to that for me. So, if you can help me, it would be greatly appreciated.