Building a simple barchart - How to sort the values similar to a papreto chart (descending)?

Hello everyone!

I am new to programming and I started using python a few weeks ago in order to do some basic data analysis.

I started using bokeh to create some boxplots which prooved to be easy with nice results and then I moved on to bar charts.

For the bar chart the data I use is a DataFrame of 594 rows and 26 columns named df_rolling

Using the columns ‘SCRAP’ and ‘MATERIAL GROUP DESC’ I want to visualize the sum of ‘SCRAP’ per ‘MATERIAL GROUP DESC’

So I do following:

chart = Bar(df_rolling,values=‘SCRAP’,label=‘MATERIAL GROUP DESC’,agg=‘sum’,width=1250)

show(chart)

which gives me almost the result that I want. The problem is that I can’t find a way to sort it from higher to lower values of ‘SCRAP’.

For example with pandas I would do the following:

roll_chart = pd.pivot_table(df_rolling,values=[‘SCRAP’], index=‘MATERIAL GROUP DESC’, aggfunc=‘sum’)

roll_chart = roll_chart.sort_values(by=‘SCRAP’,ascending=False)

chart = roll_chart.plot(kind=‘bar’)

And that would give me the desired result.

So, how can I do the same thing with bokeh?

I read all relating threads but still can’t figure it out. Please forgive my lack of experience.

Thanking you in advance for your imput,

PZ

Update:

Following this example stacked_bar_chart — Bokeh 0.10.0 documentation , I did the following:

*df_chart1 = pd.pivot_table(df_rolling,values=[‘SCRAP’],*index=‘MATERIAL GROUP DESC’,aggfunc=‘sum’)

*df_chart1 = df_chart1.sort_values(by=‘SCRAP’,*ascending=False)[df_chart1.SCRAP>0]

material = df_chart1.index.values.tolist()

scrap = df_chart1[‘SCRAP’].astype(float).values

chart1 = Bar(scrap,material)

show(chart1)

And I get this:

• File “”, line 1, in *

• runfile(‘C:/Users/pzarkadas/Documents/SHORT_TERM/mypython/DMSY_Analysis.py’, wdir=‘C:/Users/pzarkadas/Documents/SHORT_TERM/mypython’)*