Can Bokeh facilitate a simple web-based text editor?

Is it possible to open a simple text editor for, say, a simple config file?

this would only make sense for server instances with bokeh --serve, like for a dashboard.

Say I’ve got a small text file, named myAppSettings.cfg:

[section1]
N=3
msg='hello'

Say the user wants to change N to 4, using the web interface.

How can this file be opened in a simple web-based editor then save the file in the same location where it’s being served?

Perhaps using Bokeh’s Tornado web server?

I would say “probably possible in principle” but I have zero experience using or integrating any front-end editors, so I unfortunately can’t offer any concrete advice or speculate about how difficult it might be.

then save the file in the same location where it’s being served?

AFAIK he only place that something cold be saved to disk at an arbitrary location is the system that the Bokeh server is running on. If you mean the system where the browser is, that’s impossible, due to browser security limitations.

Hello @Bryan,

Thanks. It sounds like this has not been requested before and may not be a high priority.

I know people use Bokeh for dashboards, and config files are not unusual.

Are there other approaches I’m missing?

How do Bokeh-based dashboards change config files for the underlying backend application?

An online simple text editor like any of these would sure be helpful:

Accessing the file on the same server where bokeh --serve is running would be great.

It’s definitely never been requested before.

How do Bokeh-based dashboards change config files for the underlying backend application?

I’ve never heard of anyone wanting to do this, so I can’t say for sure. But if they did, I might speculate they would use the basic TextAreaInput widget.

Accessing the file on the same server where bokeh --serve is running would be great.