Contribute - Design (R/RShiny/Py)

I just finished listening to the Talk Python To Me hosted by Michael Kennedy, and who interviewed Bryan Van de Ven promoting Bokeh. I am interested in being a contributor to the Bokeh project and being a leader in delivering great data visualization tools.

I am relatively new to Python, coming from R programming world. My professional work is centered in Clinical Informatics (Healthcare domain), focused on data engineering for our cancer at UC Davis. I have spent quite a bit of time developing in R/Python and visualizing in RShiny/Tableau, and would like to help bring Bokeh to the next level. In addition to informatics I also have a designer space (Industrial/Graphical Design), and hope to help improve the look of Bokeh plots and documentation.

Please let me know how I can help and be of use to the group.

Joseph, C

1 Like

Hi Joseph,

Thanks for stopping by. We can definitely use lots of help in various areas, so I am just going to rattle off bunch of possibilities, then we can dig further into ones that sound most interesting to you:

• tweaking/updating default styling and visuals for all Bokeh plots
  • updating specific gallery/docs examples to be more interesting or attractive using explicit styling
  • creating new themes for bokeh.themes
  • contributing entirely new interesting and/or stylish examples
  • adjusting or improving the new common bootstrap theme in use on:
  • creating a better hero image for bokeh.org
  • creating new thumbnails for gallery and checkerboards
  • helping to implement the common bootstrap theme in the Sphinx docs build (soon to be docs.bokeh.org)
  • make the content section of blog.bokeh.org more attractive

Plus many other things besides, I am sure. If anything jumps out at you, let me know and I will go in to a bit more detail!

Hey Bryan,