Data update issues with streamed data and bokeh server

I am very new to bokeh, and I hit some obstacle while trying to use streaming data and bokeh server.
What I want to achieve is to have the server code keep generating some data and serve the same data to all browser sessions that connects to this. Reading the documentation, I thought this can achieve what I want to do:

import numpy as np

from bokeh.io import curdoc
from bokeh.layouts import column
from bokeh.models import ColumnDataSource
from bokeh.plotting import figure

# Set up data
N = 100
data_source = ColumnDataSource(data={
ā€˜timeā€™ : np.zeros(0,dtype=np.float32),
ā€˜temperatureā€™ : np.zeros(0,dtype=np.float32),
ā€˜currentā€™ : np.zeros(0,dtype=np.float32)
})

# Set up plot
plot_temperature = figure(plot_height=400, plot_width=400, title=ā€œtemperatureā€,
tools=ā€œcrosshair,pan,reset,save,wheel_zoomā€,
y_range=[20, 30])
plot_temperature.line(ā€˜timeā€™, ā€˜temperatureā€™, source=data_source, line_width=3, line_alpha=0.6)

plot_current = figure(plot_height=400, plot_width=400, title=ā€œCurrentā€,
tools=ā€œcrosshair,pan,reset,save,wheel_zoomā€,
y_range=[20, 30])
plot_current.line(ā€˜timeā€™, ā€˜currentā€™, source=data_source, line_width=3, line_alpha=0.6)

index=0
def update_data():
global index
new_data={
ā€˜timeā€™ : np.array([index]),
ā€˜temperatureā€™ : np.random.uniform(20,30,1),
ā€˜currentā€™ : np.random.uniform(20,30,1)
}
data_source.stream(new_data,rollover=N)
index+=1
print(ā€œupdate:ā€,index)

# Set up layouts and add to document
plot_area = column(plot_temperature,plot_current,width=500)

curdoc().add_periodic_callback(update_data, 50)
curdoc().add_root(plot_area)
curdoc().title = ā€œEnvironment Logā€

Here is what I am confused
First, I want the server generating data even there is no browser connected to it. That is not the case. It only begins as one connection is made.