Differences in plot update mechanisms

Hello there,

I’m new to bokeh and already very found of it, so before anything else: Thanks a lot for this great tool! Now back to business: It took me quite a while to find ways to successfully live update plot data, and now that I managed I have at least two option, where I don’t really know which one to prefer and what are the technical differences. In both ways I am using a thread to read out the data (which changes depending on user input through a slider), but before I say anything wrong, here is the code (methods in a class), method 1:

def __update1(self, update_interval):

Benchmarking average on 200 runs:

only self.session.store_document(self.document): 0.134s, with few values for y: 0.087s

while True:
# getting the new data
d2d.simu()
y = d2d.get_x()

for i in range(len(y)):
     self.source.data['p'+str(i)] = y[i]

self.session.store_document(self.document)

time.sleep(update_interval)

``

And method 2:

def __update2(self,update_interval):

self.p is the figure

my_renderer = self.p.select(dict(type=GlyphRenderer))
data_src = my_renderer[0].data_source

Benchmark average on 200 runs: only cursession.store_objects: 0.091s, with few values for y: 0.046s

while True:
# getting the new data
d2d.simu()
y = d2d.get_x()

for i in range(len(y)):
   data_src.data["p"+str(i)] = y[i]

cursession().store_objects(data_src)

``

I’ve included the short benchmark test, because it might be interesting to see that the second method is noticeably faster. Although both methods work, there a some differences in user experience:

Method 1 doesn’t allow to zoom/move the graph - yes, theoretically it works, but with every store_document call, the plot resets to match all the data - therefor the user can’t zoom in etc. This is of course not a wanted behavior, are there ways to stop it from resetting?