Edit Tool Data Source Manipulation

Hi, I’m completely new to this in many ways, so hopefully I’ve given enough to work with here and it’s not too basic a question. Also not sure if this belongs here or under the development section.

I’m trying to manipulate my data source in a custom edit tool extension. Specifically, I’m trying to modify _drag_points from bokeh/edit_tool.ts at branch-2.2 · bokeh/bokeh · GitHub. However, I’m not sure what’s going on here (lines 123-125): if (ykey && (dim == "height" || dim == "both")) { cds.data[ykey][index] += dy }

After some debugging, it looks like ykey is just a string ‘y’. Besides not understanding this being used in a conditional, how does this work with my CDS data? My CDS doesn’t have a column named ‘y’ although this code works fine. This becomes a problem because my glyph draws x and y values from two columns in my CDS (I can manipulate these two columns no problem), but I want to manipulate other glyphs that draw from the same CDS but different columns. I’ve tried to do some tracing on my own with the bokehjs source but have run into a dead end.

Thanks in advance for any help!

The value of xkey and ykey come from the glyph that the edit tool controls:

const [xkey, ykey] = [glyph.x.field, glyph.y.field]

These can be null or undefined if the glyph is configured to a fixed constant value, but if it is pointed at a CDS column, then the value is the configured column name.

Right, so I have no problem just accessing these keys for the current glyph being dragged as well as other glyphs in these same two x and y columns. But does that mean there’s no way to drag a glyph with source columns x and y and use that to edit columns a and b in the same CDS for example? I can try to provide a minimal example if my request seems kind of odd but haven’t posted one yet to avoid the headache of analyzing a lengthy custom TS implementation.