Even Sample Bokeh plot is not rendering

Hi,

Am a complete noob in bokeh. Doing this for the first time. I copied a sample plot from Python Bokeh tutorial - Interactive Data Visualization with Bokeh - GeeksforGeeks

To run the code, this is what I did:

1. installed latest bokeh version (it was a new install). Installation was with pip
  2. ran in python 3.10 version
  3. pasted below code for plotting into a temp.py file:
from bokeh.plotting import figure, output_file, show
graph = figure( title = "Bokeh Line Graph" )
x = [1, 2, 3, 4, 5]
y = [5, 4, 3, 2, 1]
graph.line( x, x, legend_label = "Line 1" )
graph.line( y, x, legend_label = "Line 2",
           line_color = "green" )
show( graph )
  1. ran it.
  2. File is getting generated. Am opening it via MS Edge (retried with chrome as well)
  3. File is opening; Only issue is that its an empty page.
  4. I checked the file in explorer (copied file location from edge/chrome’s address bar)
  5. File does exist, and is of non-zero size

What am I doing wrong?

I rechecked the entries in community page - there’s no mention of this issue anywhere (except one from 2015), so I’m guessing I am doing something wrong … I just cant figure out what the error is. Any help will be appreciated.

I tired attaching the html file here, but the website isnt allowing it…

Hi @arun please edit your post to use code formatting so that the code is intelligible (either with the </> icon on the editing toolbar, or triple backtick ``` fences around the code blocks). I had to manually edit all “fancy quotes” to be plain ascii quotes in order to run your code.

Your code produces the expected output for me on OSX/Chrome:

Does your output work on other browers besides Edge? What version of Edge (old non-Chromium Edge, or recent Chromium-based Edge?)

I have bumped you up from New User, you should be able to attach your file now. Or if not, you can put it in a gist: https://gist.github.com/ so that we can look at it.

Thanks for the reply.