first look at using Bokeh for interactive plotting

Hi,

I’m new to Bokeh. I’m trying to get a basic assessment if this is a viable option for us.

What we’re trying to do is to offer an interactive visualization of 2D plots.

The plots are currently generated after complex calculations in Excel. Then plotted in Excel. Then imported into Access.

What looks attractive is something like this : http://modtran.spectral.com/modtran_home

Breaking up the problem into calculation & presentation - can ? should ? Bokeh be used for complex calculations ?

Once presented as a plot, how does one allow interactive changing of input parameters (as in the above example) to update the plot ?

Any guidance would be greatly appreciated !

Kind regards,

Arie

I would say it is possible to do what you need, excel and access can be replaced by python, which you need anyway, because it provide updates (via callbacks) and interactivity. I have made simple project very similar to your except sliders, but it wouldn’t be hard to implement. The problem might be how complex are those computations and amount of data.

···

On Friday, March 30, 2018 at 7:25:40 PM UTC+3, [email protected] wrote:

Hi,

I’m new to Bokeh. I’m trying to get a basic assessment if this is a viable option for us.

The plots are currently generated after complex calculations in Excel. Then plotted in Excel. Then imported into Access.

What looks attractive is something like this : http://modtran.spectral.com/modtran_home

Breaking up the problem into calculation & presentation - can ? should ? Bokeh be used for complex calculations ?

Once presented as a plot, how does one allow interactive changing of input parameters (as in the above example) to update the plot ?

Kind regards,

Arie

Thanks for the response.

The computations are many and some are complex…

Where can I get some examples of moderate complexity calculations done using Bokeh and the resulting visualization ?