How to use CustomJSHover to format the default 32bit RGBA tooltip value

I am new to bokeh, I have been taking a look to the suggestion given at compute image bounds correctly by bryevdv · Pull Request #8773 · bokeh/bokeh · GitHub
regarding using CustomJSHover to format the default 32bit RGBA value and show it as a tuple containing (R, G, B, A), but unfortunately I have not been able to find how can I get the 32bit RGBA int value within javascript. The example provided in the docs shows how to access x and y from javascript using special_vars.x and special_vars.y but it does not mention how to access the default 32bit RGBA from javascript. Could you please give me some suggestions?..Thanks!

Hi @jmm the RGBA value is in the ColumnDataSource, so it is accessed using the same @colum_name syntax as anything else. In the PR you can see this line:

p = figure(tooltips=[("x", "$x"), ("y", "$y"), ("value", "@image")])

where the RGBA value is extracted from the "image" column of the data source. The raw value is a 32-bit RGBA int so if you wanted to display individual channels you could use a CustomJSHover to transform the value before it is displayed.

Hi @Bryan, thank you very much for your kind reply. What I have tried so far is what you mentioned in the last sentence : " The raw value is a 32-bit RGBA int so if you wanted to display individual channels you could use a CustomJSHover". The difficulty that I am having is precisely how to access such 32-bit RGBA within javascript. Here is the example code provided in the docs:

lat_custom = CustomJSHover(code="""
var projections = require(“core/util/projections”);
var x = special_vars.x
var y = special_vars.y
var coords = projections.wgs84_mercator.inverse([x, y])
return “” + coords[1]
“”")

p.add_tools(HoverTool(
tooltips=[( ‘lat’,’@y{custom}’ )],
formatters=dict(y=lat_custom)
))

Here it is showed how to access the variable x from javascript using var x = special_vars.x.