Interactions in a Chordal graph with bokeh

Hi all !

My name is Gabi, I’m a medical student trying to create an interactive representation of connectomes (“wires of the brain”). I though that making it with Bokeh would let me generate them on the fly or even create HTML reports that I could share online. I’ve been working intensively with Bokeh for a couple of week so far, here is the evolution of the project:

Right now the graph is composed of arcs and bezier curves. The main Idea, now that the glyphs have been generated, is adding some interaction to them. I wanted to use the hover tool to show information about the glyphs (the arcs) and tap (on the arcs too) for styling the bezier curves, like alpha=0.

I’ve seen that hover tool is not working on arcs right now, so i thought that tapping could make it, even if I had to implement it in JS.

I’ve tried reading from documentation, modifying examples and looking in Stack Overflow, but I haven’t manage to get it working. So here are my questions and I hope someone can help me:

• Does ‘tap’ work in arcs?
  • If yes, how can I modify a style of other dataSourceColumn like the beziers ?
  • If no, is there any hack I can try ?
    Some stats, In the first connectome I was creating more than 7.000 beziers, in the last graph, the amazing amount of 76.379 Bokeh rocks!!!

Thanks!!

Gabi

Gabriel,

First, these are great looking charts!

To answer your questions: Arc, Quadratic, Bezier glyphs do not currently implement "hit testing" for points, which is why tap and hover interactions do not work with them. To add hit testing for points, these glyphs would need to get a "_hit_point" method added, similar to this one for the Quad renderer:

https://github.com/bokeh/bokeh/blob/master/bokehjs/src/coffee/renderer/glyph/quad.coffee#L32