My implementation of downsampling on server, How to avoid glitch when replacing data in graph?

Hi, I have implemented downsampling on server for large datasets. I tested with 800 000+ and 8 000 000 points, but should work for more if memory allows. It is not optimal - I started learning python,numpy and pandas last week and bokeh this week.

How it works: original dataset is a time series with 800 000 + points. Then downsampled versions of dataset are precomputed. Each downsampled version has 4 times lower sampling frequency than the one before. I use callback to detect start and end of x axis when user zooms and based on current zoom I load a version of dataset with appropriate sampling frequency to plot, such that there is always at maximum as many points as (width of plot in pixels) * 4.

I display the data not as line but as patch to be able to plot not mean but min and max. I think it is more informative than mean.

When replacing data there is a short glitch visible in the browser. Can this be avoided? E.g. repaint plot in a different way? Try the code and see for yourselves. Ideally I would first like to paint the desired new version of dataset, before removing the version of dataset that has unsatisfactiory samplig frequency. Is this possible?

I attach the code, it should be run as

bokeh serve --show demonstration_downsampling_2.py

bokeh 0.11.0

demonstration_downsampling_2.py (6.23 KB)

Marcel,

Truly amazing timing, I literally *just* hit send on a reply to your earlier email. Apologies for the delay, both the mailing list traffic and GH issues has seen a spike and it can be hard to keep up. But I see you have fared fairly well in any case! Let me try out your example and see if I can offer any specific suggestions. In any case, would you be interested in contributing a downsampling example as a PR to the project? It would be extremely appreciated if you have the ability to do that.

Thanks,

Bryan

···