New component - Typescript/Javascript code - workflow?

Hi,
I am new to Bokeh and I enjoy it very much! But I want to extend Bokeh with a graphical widget of my own. I have seen the examples, but a few questions remain

• Is there a reference for the Javascript/Typescript code to write? I can understand more or less from the examples what to do but I have not seen a documented API
  • The typescript file imports things from “core/properties” and “core/dom”… and my linter goes bonkers because it can’t find them (even if it works), what do you do when you write that file to make that a nice experience with your IDE?
  • How stable this API is supposed to be? What is the likelihood of my widget stopping to work after a software update?

Thanks!!

cc @mateusz

Hi @sharikone for a fairly long time BokehJS was a a hidden implementation detail, and only more recently become (somewhat) more user facing with the possibility of extensions, etc. But it still has not received as much attention, re: documentation, as the Python side has. This is actually a current topic of interest, so if you have experience or expertise you can share, please chime in on this dev discussion: Adopt JSDoc to document TypeScript code · bokeh/bokeh · Discussion #11309 · GitHub

Pretty much all the documentation there currently is on extending Bokeh is located in the user’s guide chapter:

https://docs.bokeh.org/en/latest/docs/user_guide/extensions.html

BokehJS is still under active development, but I would not expect the property types in core/properties to change much, or the DOM helps in core/dom either. (But note that you don’t have to use core/dom at all, you could just create DOM objects manually)

and my linter goes bonkers because it can’t find them (even if it works), what do you do when you write that file to make that a nice experience with your IDE?