oscilloscope-like realtime/streaming display from a sensor?

Hello,

I’m new to Bokeh, but I like the promise of it and I’m looking forward to using it more in my every day work.

yesterday, I spent a lot of time trying to figure out how to make a bokeh plot that would stream data from a bluetooth enabled sensor and show how the values changed over time. Sorta like what might happen if I were to hook up the device I’m sensing to an osilloscope.

To achieve this, my idea is to have two callbacks – one slow callback to get new data, and a much faster one that will “advance” the data across the screen. At the moment, I’m using a dictionary of lists, but using two fixed length deques might be a better idea. However, I belive I am misunderstanding how .sourcedata works; I’d like to update the list associated with both X and Y. I would greatly appreciate any help with the code I’ve pasted below.

note: in the following code, get_next_sample() is
just a loop (with a very small time delay inside each loop) that polls
the object (connected to the port) for y values and returns the index of said loop for the x values. get_next_sample()returns two lists.

Thank you in advance.

···

import numpy as np

from bokeh.client import push_session
from bokeh.plotting import figure, curdoc
from bokeh.models import ColumnDataSource

dd = {‘x’:,‘y’:}

x,y = get_next_sample()
dd = update_dict(dd,x,y)

yls =
yls.extend(y)

source = ColumnDataSource(data=dict(x=x, y=y))

p = figure(x_range=(0, 1000), y_range=(0, 100))
r1 = p.line(dd[‘x’],dd[‘y’], color=“firebrick”)

open a session to keep our local document in sync with server

session = push_session(curdoc())

def get_new_data(source=source):

data = source.data

x,y = get_next_sample()

r1.data_source.data["y"] =  data["y"].extend(y)[-1000:]
r1.data_source.data["x"] =  data["x"].extend(y)[-1000:]

def advance_data():

r1.data_source.data["y"] = r1.data_source.data['y'][10:]
r1.data_source.data["x"] = r1.data_source.data['x'][10:]