Question on suitability of bokeh for real-time seismic data display

Hi,

I’m new to bokeh, and having a potential application in mind, I thought it would be wise to ask the experts if I can make it do what I need, before diving in any further.

I would like to build a web-based display for a seismometer. I’ve looked at Javascript solutions like D3 in the past, and found them not particularly well suited, and also not sufficiently performant. A rough sketch of the requirements:

– The plot style is stacked line graphs, what seismologists call a “helicorder” display after the old-style pen-and-drum recorders which traced data in one long spiral.

– Real-time data are provided at 30-Hz sampling rate from the server. All computation happens on the client (browser) side, with a data cache of the raw 30-Hz data from the server. Often the period of interest is 1-3 days, so the client side has to decimate (rate change) on the fly as needed to present a view spanning several million data points, without compromising pan/zoom performance. I.e. UI responsiveness for scrolling or zooming in time can’t be worse than ~ 1 second, and preferably better than that.

– The data have a high dynamic range (~ 120 dB), so amplitude zoom by a factor of a thousand is common and should not feel sluggish as all of the data points on-screen update.

– Display auto-updates every 30 seconds or so as new [current] data arrive from the server. Ok to draw progressively and only scroll when the plot reaches the right edge of the screen and starts a new line below.

Does this sound like something I could achieve with bokeh?

Thanks,

Mark

Hey man,

Your use case sounds similar to ours and we have been using bokeh successfully for it.

Our data rate is only 1 Hz but plots can be up to 10 years so we needed server side downsampling. We can also plot about 12,000 different time series sensors (not at the same time haha)