Should I wait for the updated Bokeh server architecture? What is the timeline?

Hello everyone,

I am relatively new to the OSS world, these may seem like dumb questions…

Yesterday an email on this list mentioned an upcoming pull request would completely overhaul the bokeh server architecture. Is there a way to start working with these changes now?

I have been fighting a CORS problem that has left the plotting function of my app dead in the water. Several SO questions and a few emails on this list have lead nowhere. I still am unable to get any sort of plotting to work on a “real” server (anything not on my development machine).

With the mention that the server is being overhauled, I don’t want to spend any more time fighting this problem if it will be irrelevant soon.

Concerning contributing: The “contributing” section of the bokeh site doesn’t specifically mention how a Python dev can contribute. I am pretty strong in Python, but not javascript. Nor have I ever been involved in an OSS project. I would love to contribute to bokeh, but would appreciate some guidance on how to get started.

Thanks!

Brian L

Hi Brian,

Our plan is to merge the preliminary PR for the new server to master in the next few days and get a dev build out ASAP next week to start soliciting feedback. This is a very large PR that touches many aspects of the library, so I expect there to be some bumps. We want to smooth those out as best as possible before the 0.11 release, which will probably be in the second half of November. If that schedule is something you can accommodate, I would absolutely suggest waiting. It's already faster and simpler to use.

Regarding the CORS problem, I feel bad that we have not been able to get you an answer. It's actually just not an area I have much expertise in. We will make sure to give good guidance or resolve any issues around CORS with the new server before the 0.11 release, however.