Slider.js_link

Hello! I am new at programming and recently I’ve been trying to create an interactive with bokeh. I’ve created the code to display a softmax function. I want to use bokeh to allow the user to change the beta parameter with a slider and see how the plot changes.

I read that a way to connect my code with the slider is with the comand .js_link . I have the following:

In line 77 I undestand I have to introduce the beta parameter instead of the ‘line_width’ but is not possible, I am confused here :sweat: :sweat:

Hi @GabrielaFacio

The js_link method is a convenience mechanism to bind properties of two bokeh models so that the chosen properties remain synchronized automatically by bokeh without any additional user code.

A slider is a bokeh model; your softmax function is not. And this is the reason why what you are attempting will not work via js_link.

You have a few options to easily accomplish your objective. In general it requires writing a callback that is run when the value of the slider changes to update the beta parameter of your softmax function that is plotted.

OPTION 1: See the slider.py example in the bokeh gallery. This example is conceptually very similar to what you have described as your example.

Sliders are used to update parameters of a mathematical function; in that case amplitude, frequency, phase, and offset are controlled by their own dedicated sliders. Here, the callback is written in JavaScript using js_on_change methods and CustomJS as the JavaScript code that gets invoked when any of the sliders are manipulated.

NOTE bokeh uses the prefix js_ and suffix JS throughout its API as a convention to indicate that things are written in JavaScript.

The benefit of this option is that you can run your function as a standalone application.