Unable to update in bokeh serve a Categorical vbar chart, likely problem with x_range

Hi!

I’m new to Bokeh (started looking into it after Bryan session at PyData LA) and I’m pretty sure the fault is on my side but I’m unable to figure out what I’m doing wrong.

I’m trying to build a dashboard with a vbar figure (among others) where the data gets updated based on a Select widget.

Since I need to change x_range dynamically when building the figure I use x_range=FactorRange() and x_scale=CategoricalScale(), the FactorRange gets then modified in the update() callback.

The first chart works fine (the one built using the default value)

Screen Shot 2018-12-22 at 7.46.27 AM.png

but upon changing value in the Select all I get is a bit of clutter text on the top (that I can’t even read),

Screen Shot 2018-12-22 at 7.47.33 AM.png

What am I doing wrong? I’ve been trying to figure it out on my own for a while now (reading ML, docs, source code) but I’ve been unsuccessful.

Code is below

from bokeh.plotting import figure

from bokeh.layouts import layout

from bokeh.models import ColumnDataSource

from bokeh.models.widgets import Select

from bokeh.io import curdoc

from bokeh.models import FactorRange, CategoricalScale

data_selector = Select(title=“Snack or Breakfast”,

options=["Snack", "Breakfast"], 

value="Snack")

data = { ‘Snack’: { ‘food’: [“Apple”, “Orange”, “Banana”],

'size': [1, 3, 2] 

},

'Breakfast': { 'food': ["Eggs", "Bacon"],

'size': [3, 7]

}

}

source = ColumnDataSource(data=data[‘Snack’])

p = figure(plot_height=600,

plot_width=700, 

title="", 

toolbar_location=None,

x_range=FactorRange(),

x_scale=CategoricalScale())

p.vbar(x=“food”, top=“size”, source=source, width=0.9)

def update():

p.title.text = data_selector.value

p.x_range = FactorRange(factors=data[data_selector.value]['food'])

source.data = data[data_selector.value]

data_selector.on_change(‘value’, lambda attr, old, new: update())

l = layout([[data_selector, p]])

update()