Using IIS to serve Bokeh

Hi everyone! I am new to Internet Information Services for Windows. I have a dashboard ready and I can serve it using the terminal and the command

bokeh serve app_myapp/ --port 5200 --allow-websocket-origin=my_IP_address

In IIS, I have set up the Host Name (xx.yyy.com) and the port (80), and the physical address is C:\inetpub\wwwroot\some_blank_htm_file
Currently xx.yyy.com shows my blank file, but I don’t know how to connect serving my bokeh dashboard with IIS settings.
I would greatly appreciate any help.

Hi @Farinaz_Nazari I don’t have any experience with or access to IIS so I am not going to be much direct help, but some of the parts of the question were a bit confusing to me so I wanted to offer a few comments in general:

• When using IIS (or nginx, or Apache) as a reverse proxy, the Bokeh server still has to be run as a separate process. (Just wanted to make sure that is clear)

• The setup will likely be somewhat similar to the nginx/apache guidance in Basic Reverse Proxy Setup

• If you do determine a configuration, it would be great to contribute to that docs section!

• To embed the proxied app, you’ll still use the functions here, in a (non-empty) page:

Embedding Bokeh content — Bokeh 2.4.2 Documentation

@Bryan Thank you for the tips. I had used Nginx with Bokeh before, but I didn’t know how to get the same functionality from IIS. I managed to solve the problem at last, and I’m going to write down the solution here in a different post, but how can I contribute to the docs section?

The goal is to use IIS as a reverse proxy. IIS is not a reverse proxy by default, so we have to add some modules and then start the configuration. These are all the steps I took:

1. Install the URL Rewrite package from the Downloads section on the IIS website.
  2. Install the ARR (application request routing) module from the Downloads section on the IIS website.